Waiting for a bus

Yesterday morning I took Harvey to the vet’s to get his toenails cut. We missed the 10 o’clock bus and had to wait for the half past, which was running late. This made us late for the appointment but the vet was OK with it.

After the traumatising event that toenail cutting is for Harvey we wandered into town to look for a bus home, we’d just missed the 38 so, having a day rover ticket, I decided to get the 37A to Middlewich instead. I’ve lived in Sandbach getting on for 22 years now but, apart from a dominoes game many years ago at the Newton Brewery, I’ve never been to Middlewich for a drink. I drive through the town every working day, usually two or three times a day, but that’s work. Yesterday was the first time I’d had a pub crawl there.

I’m not all that impressed really. OK, admittedly it was a mid-week lunch time but there was not a lot to right home about. The first port of call was the White Bear where I had an excellent pint of Savanna from the Big Hand brewery. From there I walked up Wheelock Street, aiming for the Golden Lion on Chester Road… We got there just after 12 and it was shut. From there the next destination was the Big Lock, we passed the Newton Brewery on the way but it too was closed. At the Big Lock I had a quite drinkable pint of Robbies’ Dizzy Blonde before heading back into town along the canal towpath. Leaving the towpath on the other side of Town Bridge brought us to the Navigation (closed) and the White Horse (you guessed, closed). About turn and back towards the town centre and the Kings Arms, which was open!

My joy was short lived, all keg.

We were back at the bus stop where we started so I had another pint of the Savanna in the White Bear and went to wait for the bus back to Sandbach.

I must have just missed one, there are two an hour and I waited over half an hour at the bus stop. Anyway one turned up eventually, it was a 37A which terminates in Sandbach so we had ample time for another beer before catching the next 37 back to Wheelock. It failed to turn up. The next bus home was the 38 from Macc half an hour later, usually a double decker but not this one, a single, to say it was crowded upon departure with the 37’s passengers in addition to its own was an understatement!

I do like travelling by bus because it gives the chance to look around and see things that I miss when driving, but it does try one’s patience at times.

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, she got the kids, I got the dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

