Apple curry

Iceland currently have royal gala apples on sale at 50p for a bag of six. Royal gala apples are my favourite, especially with a nice white cheese, but there’s a limit to how many I can eat.

Since giving up meat I’ve been eating bean-based meals done in the slow cooker as my staple diet, relieved with home made nut roasts and the odd pizza.

I fancied a change this week and, having the apples piled up high in the fruit bowl, I wondered if it was possible to make a curry with them. When making curries I usually add either an apple or a handful of currants to sweeten the mix but this curry is apple based.

A couple of cloves of garlic and three of my home grown finger chillies were chopped into a pan with a little olive oil. When these had been fried for a while I stirred in a finely chopped leek and a handful of crystallised ginger. Two tablespoonfuls of balti spices were mixed with water and stirred into the pan followed by four apples, cored and roughly chopped, and enough water to cover the ingredients.

The pan was then brought to the boil and simmered for an hour, stirring occasionally to prevent the curry from welding itself to the bottom of the pan.

I rarely eat a freshly made curry, they improve with festering, so the pan has been left to cool on the hob after the heat was turned off, but the aroma in the kitchen is mouth-watering.

I’ll have some with rice for tea tonight and the rest will do for an easy to prepare evening meal after work one day during the week.

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

