Kinnell!

It’s a real place… Honest!

kinnell

But the chilli that’s been simmering in the slow cooker since lunchtime is hot, very hot, very very hot, and my reaction sounded very similar to the post title when I tasted it… And that is swearing!

A full packet of Aldi’s mixed chillies was chopped into the bowl, followed by a handful of cherry tomatoes and a couple of handfuls of chopped mushrooms. Then two tins each of baked beans and red kidney beans were stirred in, with a pint of gravy (made from  granules, so veggie) poured over the mixture followed by a good twist of black pepper from the grinder and a chopped clove of garlic.

When I got back from taking Harvey for a walk (Beer Emporium then Lower Chequer) the chilli was still quite runny so I added a couple of handfuls of oats to soak up the excess liquid.

100_0572

It may be hot, but it’s going to be my staple diet for the next few days, so it is a good job I like a bit of spice in my food, and moreover it’s cheap. Excluding the odds and ends that I already had on hand the whole lot has only cost me a couple of pounds… Even with the electric taken into account that’s still less than 50p per serving.

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.