Winter warmer

 While looking for stuff to throw a veggie stew I found a bag of chillies in the freezer. No idea how long they’ve been there and they looked a bit dried up so I couldn’t properly tell what sort they were.

Me being me (and me being stupid) I chopped them up anyway and added them to the mixture already in the slow cooker… Then I picked one out again and bit it.

BIG MISTAKE.

They’re hot! I’ve downed half a pint of milk and my mouth is still on fire. Ah well, never mind, too late to fish them out now. It’ll be a proper winter warmer when it’s cooked.

That was yesterday…

Earlier this morning I took about half of the mix out of the slow cooker and whizzed it in the blender then put it in a large saucepan with a tin of chopped tomatoes, a chopped and fried onion, three crushed cloves of garlic, a handful of chopped ginger, six teaspoons of homemade curry powder (coriander, paprika, tumeric, chilli and cumin) and a tablespoon of mustard. This lot has been boiled up and then left to cool so that the flavours can all mix together. The smell in the kitchen is absolutely gorgeous.

The rest of the slow cooker’s contents have been split into two. The lumpy bits will be mixed with diced pork to make a stew and the remaining liquid has been frozen to use as either soup or stock.

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.