South Island

Readers of my other blog will be aware that I play with toy trains and have more than a passing interest in a certain location on New Zealand’s South Island.

frogs-rocks

This interest was not on my mind when I went to the Royal Oak in New Mills last night – Until I spotted that they had a beer I’d not tried before on the end pump. I am glad I have my other hobby because I would probably have stuck to the pub’s usual light bitter, Dizzy Blonde, if I had not made the NZ connection.

I really must say that South Island is one of the finest blonde beers I have tasted this year, there seems to have been a truly good selection of pale ales using unusual hops recently and this one is well up there with the best of them. The first pint of it actually tasted a bit sweet due to my having had a Dizzy previously, but the flavour came through a lot better with the next one. Unfortunately it’s a seasonal “guest” beer and, from what the landlord told me, it’s coming to the end of its production run.

royaloak 001

That’s a great pity because over the last couple of years my opinion of this brewery has risen greatly, primarily influenced by Dizzy and the short run pale/blonde beers.

south-island2-seasonal

Keep it up Robinsons, you are doing an excellent job!

New Mills has changed a lot since I used to work at Central station in the late 1970s and early 80s. On leaving the pub I was greeted with this trio, who I would have associated more with Marple or Romiley in those days…

royaloak 002Luckily they were confined behind glass!

royaloak 003

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.