A Ruby

No, not that sort, but my birthstone (if I believed in all that tosh) would actually be a ruby. This Ruby is a Ruby Murray and it’s a real doozy. Beans, aubergine, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, cucumber (yes, cucumber), sweet peppers, fresh chillies and a generous handful of currants. Added to this was turmeric, coriander, chilli powder, fenugreek, mustard, cumin, ginger and just a hint of garlic. All boiled up and left to fester for a few hours.

I then added half a bottle of beer, having drunk the other half, and brought the pan back up to the boil before letting it simmer for the best part of an hour until the contents had the right gooey texture.

ruby 007

The smell is delightful, as is the taste, served on a bed of chips… I know, I’m a heathen, but I still can’t find my sieve and have no intentions of trying to drain a pan of boiled rice using the tea-strainer again!

I’ll have the left-overs later in the week, when properly matured, but I need to buy some naan bread and onion bhajis to go with it.

taj mahalAnd a new sieve.

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

